Along with the railway ferries D/F Ammonia and M/F Storegut, the Rjukan Line (Rjukanbanen) manages and disseminates exciting and spectacular stories through trips and activities on land and in the water.
Rjukanbanen consists of a train and railway ferries MF Storegut and DF Ammonia
Established to transport artificial fertilizer from Rjukan to Notodden and "to the world market"
Objects on UNESCO world heritage list
Norway’s most complex industrial heritage monument
Welcome to the Rjukan Line
Together they form an extraordinary and historically unique trio from the early years of Norwegian industrialization, in terms of project scope, contemporary visitor experience and cultural-historical object.
The Rjukan Line opened in 1909 after a two-year construction period. It was established to transport artificial fertilizer and raw materials for Hydro as well as to provide other goods and passenger transport. In 1911 the line was the first standard-gauge railway in Norway to be electrified. Sam Eyde’s system of electrically operated railway in Telemark would later set the standard for electrification in Europe.
This historical railway transported goods across Lake Tinn (Tinnsjøen) from Tinnoset before continuing on land from Mæl to Rjukan, with a side track serving the Vemork Power Plant.
Museum railway and Wessel
The industrial transport network was closed down in 1991, but the Rjukan Line has found a new lease of life as a museum railway.